Oh, the Irony

I generally count myself lucky as I do not receive a lot of spam email. I also use an email client with superb spam filtering features.

However, over the past few days, I’ve gotton nearly identical emails from virtually the same place, and guess what? They’re all for spam filtering software. I checked into both the spammer and the “author” of the product, and they’re one and the same.

And, for the coup de gras, the message claims to be conformant to the “2003 US Can-Spam Act”. I can only assume that they mean the CAN-SPAM Act of 2003 (of which I am very skeptical about the possibility of effectiveness, alleged enforcement, and motivation).

At any rate, it has been asserted that the CAN-SPAM Act “Requires that your have an working unsubscribe system that makes it easy for recipients to unsubscribe opt out of receiving your e-mails” [1]. In fact, the CAN-SPAM Act (Section 5.A.5.ii) only says that there must be an advertised notice of an opt-out opportunity. There are two things wrong with that. The first and most obvious one is that usually “opting-out” on a spammers website pretty much guarentees more spam. You’re falling right into their trap: confirming that an email address is real. That means a slam-dunk every time they want to send out an email. Second, the opt-out facility is not even required to work. Just because they provide a URL for opting-out doesn’t mean that the URL has to actually do something. Idiots…

Sure, email is a convenient medium for advertisement. Sure, there’s no particular reason why any person should be prohibited from emailing any other person. But, there’s also no reason to send me the same, unsolicited email over and over again. There’s also no reason for me not to publish their contact information 😉

I provide the following for informational purposes only. Anything you choose to do with it is therefore your own fault and/or problem. Enjoy!

Here’s a representative email from these people:
(note that I have inserted a few newlines for formatting. also, the original email was, in fact, in the despicable HTML format.)

From - Thu Jun  3 21:48:20 2004
X-UIDL: 20040604014228s18000qb58e0045db
X-Originating-IP: []
Received: from ([])
   by ([]); Thu, 03 Jun 2004 19:35:25 -0700
Date: Thu, 03 Jun 2004 18:44:25 -0800
From: "Cecil" 
Reply-To: "Cecil" 
Cc: [several email addresses, including mine, all at the same domain]
Subject: Protect innocent eyes from adult email
Mime-Version: 1.0
X-Mailer: Telectorate Version 0.0
Content-Type: text/html; charset=us-ascii
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit

I have a special_offer for you...

*Better than all other Spam filters -*

*Only Delivers The Email You Want!*

This is the ultimate solution that is guaranteed to stop all spam
without losing any of your important email! This system protects you 100%.

We didn't believe it either until we actually tried it. So you be the judge and 
see for yourself.

*You owe it to yourself to try this program,* and forward this email to all of 
your friends
who hate Spam or as many people as possible.

Get rid of unwanted emails now. 


If you want to stop receiving this 

P.revia Marketing, Inc.
14781 Memorial Dr. / Suite 966
Houston, TX 77079

Conforms to legal requirements of 2003 US Can-Spam Act.









chronic hutchins perihelion spavin amelia backside


Here is some more information that I was able to gather:

[chris@localhost]$ nslookup better-svc-plans.com
Note:  nslookup is deprecated and may be removed from future releases.
Consider using the `dig' or `host' programs instead.  Run nslookup with
the `-sil[ent]' option to prevent this message from appearing.

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   better-svc-plans.com

[chris@localhost]$ nslookup
Note:  nslookup is deprecated and may be removed from future releases.
Consider using the `dig' or `host' programs instead.  Run nslookup with
the `-sil[ent]' option to prevent this message from appearing.

Non-authoritative answer:      name = www.previa-mktg.com.

Authoritative answers can be found from:
78.139.66.in-addr.arpa  nameserver = ns1.serverbeach.com.
78.139.66.in-addr.arpa  nameserver = ns2.serverbeach.com.

[chris@localhost]$ whois better-svc-plans.com
[Querying whois.internic.net]
[Redirected to whois.directnic.com]
[Querying whois.directnic.com]
Registration and WHOIS Service Provided By: directNIC.com

Intercosmos Media Group, Inc. provides the data in the directNIC.com
Registrar WHOIS database for informational purposes only. The information
may only be used to assist in obtaining information about a domain name's
registration record.
directNIC makes this information available "as is," and does not guarantee
its accuracy.

 Previa Marketing
 14781 Memorial Dr.
 Houston, TX 77079
 281 602-4096 


Administrative Contact: 
 Mgr, System admin@previa-mktg.com
 14781 Memorial Dr.
 Houston, TX 77079
 281 602-4096 

Technical Contact: 
 Mgr, System admin@previa-mktg.com
 14781 Memorial Dr.
 Houston, TX 77079
 281 602-4096 

Record expires on 05-29-2005
Record created on 05-29-2004

Domain servers in listed order:

By submitting a WHOIS query, you agree you will use this data only for
lawful purposes.  You also agree that, under no circumstances, will you use
this data to:  a) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission by
email, telephone, or facsimile of mass, unsolicited, commercial advertising
or solicitations to entities other than the data recipient's own existing
customers; or to (b) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes
that send queries or data to the systems of any Registry Operator or
ICANN-Accredited registrar.
The compilation, repackaging, dissemination, or other use of this WHOIS
data is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of
directNIC.com reserves the right to terminate your access to its WHOIS
database in its sole discretion, including without limitation, for
excessive querying of the database or for failure to otherwise abide by
this policy.
directNIC reserves the right to modify these terms at any time.
[chris@localhost]$ whois previa-mktg.com
[Querying whois.internic.net]
[Redirected to whois.joker.com]
[Querying whois.joker.com]
domain:       previa-mktg.com
status:       production
organization: Previa Marketing
email:        admin@previa-mktg.com
address:      14781 Memorial Dr.
address:      Suite # 966
city:         Houston
state:        TX
postal-code:  77079
country:      US
admin-c:      admin@previa-mktg.com#0
tech-c:       admin@previa-mktg.com#0
billing-c:    admin@previa-mktg.com#0
nserver:      ns1.my-isp-usa.com 
nserver:      ns2.my-isp-usa.com 
registrar:    JORE-1
created:      2004-03-04 21:06:39 UTC JORE-1
modified:     2004-05-06 10:14:09 UTC JORE-1
expires:      2005-03-04 16:06:26 UTC 
source:       joker.com

db-updated:   2004-06-06 20:16:45 UTC 
[chris@localhost] $

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: